Considering Christianity

I stole this from a comment by Occam’s Blog:

 

(1) If a claim X is plausible and accepted by a large number of intelligent people, and if accepting X would result in enormous benefits if X is true, then we should spend some time investigating X to see whether or not it is true.
(2) Christianity is plausible and accepted by a large number of intelligent people.
(3) Accepting Christianity would result in enormous benefits if Christianity is true.
(4) Therefore, we should spend some time investigating Christianity to see whether or not it is true.

9 responses to “Considering Christianity

  1. I don’t know exactly how to interpret this post (which you opted not to inform me about). Did you post this so that my argument would look silly, as suggested by your juxtaposing it with a Calvin and Hobbes comic strip?

    If so, I would remind you that my argument specifically *precludes* one from believing in just anything, “no matter how preposterous it sounds.” Indeed, the first and second premises refer explicitly to the plausibility of the claim in question. Further, the conclusion of the argument is not that one should believe that Christianity is true, but that we should spend some time investigating it.

    • I posted this because I wanted to share the argument with people, it’s awesome. Way better than Pascal’s Wager. The comic strip is just for fun, I thought the Atheists would get a laugh out of it. I didn’t notify you because I didn’t think you’d even see it (or care), and if you did see it, I wanted to make sure I gave you the credit by linking to your blog.

      I think you did a fantastic job with the argument, I’ve been copying and pasting it into some of my comments to people.

  2. Hm. You do realize this argument would be equally as valid if it were applied to Islam rather than Christianity?

    Also, I can’t quite find the specific comment you are quoting from. Could you link to it directly?

  3. Oh, and I am looking into all three, actually. I’m currently reading the Bible and the Qur’an, and I plan to read up on Hinduism and Buddhism after that. Although my main purpose is simply to better understand where other people are coming from and to learn about religion in general, it does also give me a chance to evaluate the truth claims of various popular religions for myself.

    • I commend you on your willingness to seek God, that’s fantastic! Here are some verses of the Bible related to finding God:

      Mt 7:7 “Ask, and it will be given to you; seek, and you will find; knock, and it will be opened to you.

      Romans 10:17 “So faith comes from hearing, and hearing through the word of Christ.”

      Lu 16:31 “But he said to him, ‘If they do not hear Moses and the prophets, neither will they be persuaded though one rise from the dead.’”

      1 Corinthians 2:4,5
      4 And my speech and my preaching were not with persuasive words of human wisdom, but in demonstration of the Spirit and of power,
      5 that your faith should not be in the wisdom of men but in the power of God.

      Zec 4:6 So he answered and said to me: “This is the word of the LORD to Zerubbabel: ‘Not by might nor by power, but by My Spirit,’ Says the LORD of hosts.

      Joh 15:26 “But when the Helper comes, whom I shall send to you from the Father, the Spirit of truth who proceeds from the Father, He will testify of Me.

      Heb 11:6 But without faith it is impossible to please Him, for he who comes to God must believe that He is, and that He is a rewarder of those who diligently seek Him.

      Ro 1:19 because what may be known of God is manifest in them, for God has shown it to them.